The AAP's work is facilitated by a number of Operating Committees which carry out the day-to-day operations of the AAP, each directed towards achieving the primary object of promoting and supporting philosophy in Australasia.


The Presidential Committee addresses issues of concern to the profession that would not otherwise be addressed by the Association. Typically, the Presidential Committee will take on a defined project that runs for two years.

Convenor - Fred Kroon (University of Auckland)

Members - Simon Burgess (University of New England)Jean-Philippe Deranty (Macquarie University), Paul Griffiths (University of Sydney), Paul Redding (University of Sydney), David Simpson (University of Wollongong)

Higher Education

The main functions of the Higher Education Committee are to monitor and respond to issues relevant to philosophy in the Higher Education sector and to develop and sustain relationships with relevant Humanities and Social Sciences bodies. 

Convenor - Dirk Baltzly (University of Tasmania) 

Members - Fiona Jenkins (Australian National University), Jakob Hohwy (Monash University),  Simon Keller (Victoria University of Wellington), Jeremy Moss (University of Melbourne), Michael Pelczar (National University of Singapore)

Status of Women in the Philosophy Profession

The Committee makes recommendations where appropriate, on how best to promote the status of women, and to devise and carry out projects that support women, in the profession of Philosophy in Australasia. 

Convenor - Catherine Legg (Waikato University)

Members - Joanne Faulkner (University of New South Wales), Sandra Field (National University of Singapore), Moira Gatens (University of Sydney), Ines Hipolitano (University of Wollongong), Catherine Mills (Monash University), Louise Richardson-Self (University of Tasmania), Glenda Satne (University of Wollongong)


The Committee makes recommendations where appropriate, on how best to support diversity, and to devise and carry out projects that support diversity, in the profession of Philosophy in Australasia. 

Convenor - Krushil Watene (Massey University)

Members - Ines Hipolito (University of Wollongong), Adam Hochman (Macquarie University)

Philosophy in the Community 

The committee advises Executive, and makes recommendations where appropriate, on how best to promote philosophy within the community and outside the academy.

Convenor - Daniel Hutto (University of Wollongong)

Members - Monima Chadha (Monash University), Louise Richardson-Self (University of Tasmania), Zach Weber (University of Otago), James McGuire (Monash University), Jimmy Lewis-Martin (University of Wollongong), Caroline West (University of Sydney), Samuel Baron (University of Western Australia), Rob Wilson (La Trobe University), Chris Lawless (University of Adelaide)


The Committee liaises with media and philosophers to promote philosophy in the media. 

Convenor - Katrina Hutchison (Macquarie University) & Patrick Stokes (Deakin University)

Members - Antonia Case (Editor), Stephen Chadwick (Massey University), Leigh Dayton (Science Writer and Broadcaster), Tim Dean (Philosopher | Writer | Editor), Ming Tan (AAP Social Media Officer)

AAP Conferences

The committee liaises with conference organisers in the organisation of the annual conference.

Convenor - Patrick McGivern (Wollongong University), 

Members - Stuart Brock (Victoria University of Wollongong), Garrett Cullity (University of Adelaide), Graham Oppy (Monash University), Neil Sinhababu (National University of Singapore), Bryan Van Norden (Yale-NUS)

Australasian Journal of Philosophy

The primary role of the committee is to judge the AJP Best Paper Prize. The Committee may also assists the Editor of the AJP in other ways.

Convenor -  Fred Kroon (University of Auckland)

Members - Fred Kroon (University of Auckland); Kristie Miller (University of Sydney); Laura Schroeter (University of Melbourne)

Australasian Philosophical Review

The Committee will assist the Editor of the APR in determining whom to approach to be Conveners of issues of the APR.

Convenor - Graham Oppy (Monash University)

Members - Justine Kingsbury (Waikato University), Nicholas Smith (Macquarie University), Amber Carpenter (National University of Singapore - Yale)


The committee represents philosophy postgraduate students in Australasia.

Convenor - Toby Solomon (Australian National University) 

Members - Jarrah Aubourg (Wollongong University), Sidney Diamante (University of Auckland), Michael Vincent (University of Queensland), Neil Durrant (Monash University), David Premsharan (National University of Singapore), Elena Gordon (University of Sydney), Adam Piovarchy (University of Sydney), Anco Peeters (University of Wollongong), Grace Campbell (University of Queensland)


The committee represents philosophy undergraduate students in Australasia.

Convenor - TBA

©Australasian Association of Philosophy
ACN 152 892 272
ABN 29
152 892 272
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software