Forward Thinking Learning and Teaching Philosophy in Australia

The principal aim of the project was to record the state of tertiary teaching of philosophy in Australia and to provide benchmarking data on philosophy at the following levels: the teaching academics, the structure and composition of the philosophy major, and the teaching of philosophy from first year or "service" units/subjects, through the Honours year and into postgraduate study. A further aim of the project was to continue to build networks of those philosophers interested in strategies for enhancing the curriculum and in enhancing their teaching practice.

Project deliverables include:
  • A series of reports including the Final Report and Summary Reports
  • These reports are supported by a series of datasets
  • A series of case studies on innovative practices, including summaries of issues raised at Round Tale Discussions and ALTC citation winners in philosophy.

Project Team

Project Leader: Ass. Prof. Ian Ravenscroft (Flinders University)

Project Manager: Eliza Goddard (Australasian Association of Philosophy).

Project Team:
Professor Ros Diprose (University of New South Wales)
Professor Susan Dodds (University of Tasmania)
Dr Jenny Duke-Yonge (Macquarie University
Dr Simon Lumsden (University of New South Wales)
Professor Catriona Mackenzie (Macquarie University)
Professor Peter Menzies (Macquarie University
Dr Mitch Parsell (Macquarie University)

 Download Case Studies

Commentaries on Issues including the following:

  • Evaluation
  • Encouraging attendance at tutorials
  • Encouraging tutorial preparation
  • Teaching philosophy to non philosophy majors/first year students
  • Teaching Ethics to non philosophy majors
  • Teaching philosophy outside the BA/to non philosophy majors

lineForward Thinking: Learning and Teaching Philosophy in Australian Universities was funded by the Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC) via a Discipline-Based Initiative Grant. The project was also supported by the Australasian Association of Philosophy (AAP).
©Australasian Association of Philosophy
ACN 152 892 272
ABN 29
152 892 272
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software