Australasian Society for Asian and Comparative Philosophy (ASACP) Conference

  • 10 Jul 2017
  • 12 Jul 2017
  • Deakin University

Australasian Society for Asian and Comparative Philosophy (ASACP) Conference 10-12 July 2017

The ASACP 2017 Conference will be held from 10-12 July 2017 at Deakin University, Deakin Downtown 727 Collins St, Melbourne, Australia.


Keynote Speakers:

Professor David R. Loy (

Professor Jin Y. Park, American University, Washington DC (

Professor John Powers, Alfred Deakin Institute, Deakin University

The conference committee invites submissions of proposals for papers in all areas of Asian and Comparative Philosophy, although there will be special focus on the following streams:

- Nonduality in Asian and Western Thought

- Engaging Asian Philosophical traditions - why it is important to Philosophy

- Methodology in Comparative Philosophy

- Comparative East Asian and South Asian Philosophies

Proposals for papers and panels should be submitted via email to Dr Leesa Davis ( with “ASACP 2017” in the subject line.

Closing date for proposals: 31st April 2017.

Paper proposals should include the following: title, abstract (150-200 words), speaker’s contact details and institutional affiliation (if any).

Registration details will be made available soon.

Please send conference enquiries to Dr Leesa Davis:




The ASACP 2017 Conference includes an essay competition for enrolled graduate students attending the conference.

Essays should focus on any topic within Asian and/or Comparative philosophy. Applicants are encouraged to address the conference streams listed above.

Essays should be no more than 10 pages (or 4,000 words).





Essays should be sent via email (preferably PDF copy) to BOTH A/Prof Karyn Lai: and

Dr Peter Wong: by Saturday 15th April 2017.

Please note:

1. Only conference attendees will be eligible for the prizes.

2. The committee reserves the right not to award any or all of the prizes should there be no deserving entries.


ASACP 2017 Conference Organising Committee:

Dr Leesa Davis, Deakin University (chair)

Dr Monima Chadha, Monash University

Dr Peter Wong, Sophia, International Journal of Philosophy and Traditions

A/Prof Karyn Lai, University of New South Wales

Contributed Paper Sessions

Contributed papers should normally be scheduled as 55 minute sessions, with approximately 30 minutes for presentation and 25 minutes for questions and discussion.

©Australasian Association of Philosophy
ACN 152 892 272
ABN 29
152 892 272
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software