2 0 1 9   A u s t r a l a s i a n   A s s o c i a t i o n   o f   P h i l o s o p h y   C o n f e r e n c e

   Conference Home  •  Program  •  Keynotes  •  Sessions •  Streams  •  Abstracts  •  Register  •  Postgraduates   •  Honours    Alan Saunders Lecture  •  

All Speakers  •  About Wollongong  •  Social Events  •  Resources & Accessibility

University of Wollongong

UOW Page about the 2019 Conference

Everyone at UOW Philosophy is very pleased to have the annual conference returning to Wollongong in 2019! 

We look forward to hosting philosophers from around the world with an outstanding line-up of keynote speakers.

We aim to encourage a relaxed, professional, and safe atmosphere for the exchange of ideas and presentation of arguments. We ask all participants - whether they be speakers, chairs, or attendees - to take responsibility for creating a space where all feel accepted, respected, and heard.

Please join us!

Contact Conference OrganiserPatrick McGivern

Postgraduate Presentation Prize 2019 Shortlist 


2019 Winners

Ross Pain & Szymon Bogacz - Australian National University

Matthew Joseph - University of Sydney

Inês Hipólito - University of Wollongong

Adam Piovarchy - The University of Sydney

2019 Alan Saunders Lecture

Alison Wylie (UBC)

Tickets This a free event but bookings are required. Book here.

Tuesday 9 July 2019 Wollongong Town Hall

This lecture will be recorded by ABC & available for download after the event.

Annette Baier Prize 2019 Shortlist

2019 Winner

Louise Richardson-Self  University of Tasmania

2019 Commendation

Holly Lawford-Smith  University of Melbourne


Bronwyn Finnigan  Australian National University

Kristie Miller  The University of Sydney

Catherine Mills  Monash University


 Facebook Event 


Email Conference Organiser: Patrick McGivern

AAP Chief Executive Officer: Stuart Brock

Held annually since 1923, the 2019 Conference will be hosted by University of Wollongong

The conference is designed to give professional philosophers and philosophy postgraduate students the opportunity to present and discuss papers in all areas of philosophy. Each year it attracts around 300 philosophers worldwide.

The conference begins with the AAP AGM at 4.30pm on Sunday 7 July, prior to the Opening Reception and the Presidential Address delivered by Associate Professor Karen Green. It will conclude with the Conference Dinner on the evening on Thursday 11 July.

  • Home
  • Conference 2019
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software