Australasian Philosophy:

Bridging the Past, Present with the Future 

Centenary Closing Symposium 2023

Thursday 30 November - Friday 1 December 2023

University of Sydney

Nanoscience Hub, Seminar Room 4001

Register here:

Registrations close Thursday 16 November 8.00pm AEDT

Australasian Philosophy: Bridging the Past and Present with the Future is the closing event of the AAP's Centenary year celebrations. It is a single stream symposium with sessions over two days that showcase distinctive themes concerning the future of Australasian philosophy. 

The symposium will open with a special event to honour the philosophical and personal legacy of Marion Tapper, which will be co-hosted with the Australasian Society for Continental Philosophy (ASCP), on the afternoon Wednesday 29 November.

The event takes place alongside and as part of the 2023 Congress of HASS 

This event is hybrid, with attendance in person and online via zoom. The event is free. In person places are limited. To attend please register here:

Join the AAP HERE

Provisional Program

Thursday 30 November

Session 1: Methodologies and the Future of Australasian Philosophy

Chair: Marguerite La Caze University of Queensland

Panellists: Marilyn Stendera University of Wollongong, Daniel Brennan Bond University, 

David Macarthur University of Sydney

Session 2: Indigenous philosophy and the future of Australasian philosophy

Chair: Max Deutscher Macquarie University

Panellists: Jo Faulkner Macquarie University, Nicolas Bullot Charles Darwin University

Session 3: Philosophical progress and the future of Australasian philosophy

Chair: Ian Robertson University of Wollongong

Panellists: Paul Griffiths University of Sydney, Kristie Miller University of Sydney, Karyn Lai University of New South Wales

Friday 1 December

Session 4: Environmental Issues and the future of Australasian philosophy

Chair: Adrian Walsh University of New England

Panellists: Jeremy Moss University of New South Wales, Garrett Cullity Australian National University,

Luara Ferracioli University of Sydney

Session 5: Philosophy for Children and the future of Australasian philosophy

Chair: Kaz Bland University of Western Australia

Panellists: Britta Jensen University of New South Wales, Peter Ellerton University of Queensland

Session 6: The philosophy and ethics of AI and the future of Australasian philosophy

Chair: Tracy Bowell University of Waikato, AAP CEO

Panellists: Inês Hipólito Macquarie University, Mark Alfano Macquarie University, 

Simon Knight - University of Technology Sydney

©Australasian Association of Philosophy.     ACN 152 892 272 ABN 29 152 892 272

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software