

aap.org.au

Media Prize

Awarded for the best philosophical piece(s) published by a professional philosopher

2023 Co Winner Mark Alfano Macquarie University 'A sense of humour - even a dark one - is a moral virtue'. Psyche/Aeon

2023 Co Winner Mandi Astola

'A sense of humour - even a dark one - is a moral virtue'. Psyche/Aeon

Delft University of Technology

2022 Matthew Sharpe Deakin University

'When life gives you lemons... 4 Stoic tips for getting through lockdown from Epictetus'. The Conversation

Little Bad Thing podcast. The Ethics Centre 2020 Co Winner David Killoren

2021 Eleanor Gordon-Smith University of Sydney

Australian Catholic University 'Uncivil Disobedience', Hi-Phi Nation. Slate Podcasts

2020 Co Winner Richard Rowland Australian Catholic University 'Uncivil Disobedience', Hi-Phi Nation. Slate Podcasts

2019 Kristie Miller University of Sydney 'The block universe theory, where time travel is possible but time passing is an illusion'. Catalyst, ABC TV

2018 Daniel Halliday University of Melbourne Ethics Matters. ABC TV

2017 Russell Blackford 2017 Body of work including in New Philosopher,

2016 Matthew Beard

Free Inquiry and Religion and Ethics. ABC

2016 Body of work including in *The Guardian, Sydney Morning* Herald, Canberra Times, ABC Radio and The World, ABC TV

2015 Henry Martyn Lloyd The University of Queensland 'Brandis misses the finer points of free speech'. The Drum, ABC TV

2014 Patrick Stokes Deakin University 2014 Body of work including in *The Conversation, New*

Philosopher and Life Matters. ABC Radio

2013 Damon Young

2013 Body of work including in Sydney Morning Herald, Australian Financial Review and ABC Radio

2012 Paul Biegler Monash University 'Climate sceptics might just be captive to basic emotions'. Sydney Morning Herald

2011 Peter Slezak University of New South Wales The Trials of Galileo. Compass. ABC TV

2010 Caroline West University of Sydney 2010 Body of work including in Sydney Morning Herald and The Philosopher's Zone. ABC Radio

2009 John Armstrong University of Melbourne 2009 Body of work including in *The Australian* and *The Age*

2008 Geoffrey Levey University of New South Wales

'A healthy dose of multiculturalism'. Australian Financial Review

2007 Jeremy Moss University of Melbourne 'The Ethicist'. The Sunday Age

2006 Simon Clarke University of Canterbury 'Clear Thinking'. Christchurch Press

2005 Kim Atkins University of Tasmania 'Matters of personal preference'. Australian Financial Review

2004 Stan Van Hooft Deakin University

'Socratic Dialogue'. Late Night Live, ABC Radio

2003 Tim Dare University of Auckland 2003 Body of work

2002 John Sutton Macquarie University 'Ghost in the Machine'. Weekly radio program on Eastside Radio 89.7FM, Sydney

2000 Tamas Pataki University of Melbourne 'Narcissism Incarnate'. The Australian's Review of Books

1999 Chandran Kukathas University of New South Wales 'Tolerating the Intolerable'. Life Matters, ABC Radio

aap.org.au/AAP-Media-Prize

Media Professionals' Award

Awarded to journalists and media professionals for excellence in presentation of philosophy or philosophical issues in the media

2023 Diana Reid

Author of Seeing Other People, Ultimo Press

2021 Joe Gelonesi

Host and Producer of *The Philosopher's Zone, ABC Radio*

Host and Producer of Radical Philosophy, 3CR Melbourne

2019 Elizabeth Matthews

2018 Brigid Hains

Editorial Director, Aeon Magazine 2017 Zan Boag

Founder and Editor, New Philosopher Magazine

Kyla Slaven 2017

Producer of Short and Curly, ABC Radio Podcast

2016 Co Winner Waleed Aly

Co Host of *The Minefield, ABC Radio*

2016 Co Winner Scott Stephens Co Host of The Minefield, ABC Radio

2015 Tim Dean

Cosmos, The Drum, ABC TV and The Project, CH 10 2014 Antonia Case

2015 Body of Work including contributions to Acuity Magazine,

Literary Editor and Journalist, New Philosopher Magazine

2013 Natasha Mitchell Host and Producer of 'The Mind-Body Problem Downunder', All In The Mind, ABC Radio

2012 Alan Saunders Host and Producer of *The Philosopher's Zone, ABC Radio*

aap.org.au/Media-Professionals-Award



Prizes and Awards Sponsored by Taylor and Francis